A FATHER’S LOVE: A LETTER TO MY DAUGHTER (2 years old)

My daughter, the apple of my eye, listen to your father. I know you can neither read nor can you understand what all the hullabaloo is all about. Today you have turned 2 years of age; meaning the only number you know is two (don’t you start lying to me baby girl I know the number 2 is your favorite; your kindergarten teacher  told me so). Never hide anything from me, I am always walking behind you even when you think I am not there. Remember how I carry you on my shoulders and you think you’re seeing farther than I can? Well you were right most of the time but you never stopped to consider than you might see your destination but I know how to get there. While your eyes are only looking up at the horizon my eyes are looking down, finding the path you should take to get there. You will always have a vision but my job is showing you how to get there.

In the midst of your confusion today, which has made you cry more than you have laughed, know that you gave me the ultimate Christmas gift. You made me smile. When you opened all those gifts I got for you, your smile (just your smile) filled me with unspeakable joy. A confession: I knew I became a father when I realized that I am happier (if not the happiest) when I sacrifice my own happiness for the sake of your happiness. Never forget that. I will always throw away my happiness for your sake. Instead of buying a six-pack of beer I will get you a teddy bear. When I go shopping for shoes, I will always look for your shoes first. When I spend the entire day at work hungry I will always save that little money I have to buy candy for you. I will always trade my own happiness for your smile. I hope than this alone will justify my claim of the esteemed title of “father” in all your life.

Your father adores and loves you my love. I will always sell my happiness for your sake and I will always carry you on my shoulders when you get tired. That to me sounds like a father whose adoration for his daughter defies all logic…what more can I say?

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Conversation Room

Ideas worth exploring

Beast Books

Feed. Us. Magic.

Thinking Clearly

Philosophy x Neuroscience

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Writings By Ender

The Writer's Adventure

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Flavia the Bibliophile

A blog about books, TV, movies, makeup, and travel!

unbolt me

the literary asylum

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

Red Lips and Bibliomaniacs

Random Musings of a Book Aficionado

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Lee Martin

Opinion and Analysis by Dr. David T C Mukwekwezeke

